Go to main navigation
2703 Center Street, Deer Park, Texas 77536
Call for Consultation 281-817-0998 281-817-0998

AVVO Reviews



Posted by Briana
January 16, 2019
Knowledgeable And caring but tough enough
Mrs merchant was able to answer all my problems with a positive outcome, she fought for my son and myself, she is caring and loyal but just tough enough to get thr job done! I could not have been more satisfied!


Posted by Juanita
July 23, 2018
Custody case
Ms. Merchant was very helpful in a custody case as well as very knowledgeable in family law. I would highly recommend.


Posted by anonymous
July 21, 2018
Forever Grateful
After being served unexpectedly with divorce papers, I was referred to Shelly Merchant by a family member. After consulting with Shelly, I knew she was the legal professional I wanted representing me and my interests. She and her office kept me updated at all times. They were accommodating when it came to scheduling appointments, and expected costs were always discussed. Shelly guided me successfully through this process, and I am forever grateful.


Posted by Lynn
March 7, 2016
Thorough Amicus
Shelly Merchant was assigned to our case by the state as the attorney (amicus) for my grandson. She was relentless in finding the best solution for this difficult case and went the extra mile to ensure that what was best for the child would be first and foremost. She passed no judgment on hearsay, only on the facts. Well done Shelly.


Posted by Sandra Aleman
March 5, 2016
Best Lawyer
I had Mrs.Shelly as an amicus that was assigned to my custody case, I was going through a custody dispute for the second time ms merchant always investigated thoroughly and was always completely fair about everything, to be going through such a terrible and scary time in my life I’m so happy that I could at least rely on the fact the amicus (merchant) was honest fair and very thorough she took on such a difficult case and did the best job any lawyer could have done, I can say I was very pleased with her and her entire staff. Very attentive very thorough and very honest that’s a great lawyer in my book thank you ms merchant this would have been unbearable without you.


Posted by Amanda
December 10, 2014
One of the Best!
Shelly was absolutely one of the best attorneys I have had. Unfortunately, for me, I have had to deal with the courts over custody issues a few times. Not always did I have a ‘good’ attorney by my side. So finding Shelly was a Blessing for me. As a mother, being in a custody battle is terrifying, however, Shelly helped me through it. She was understanding and compassionate. She seemed more of a friend than an attorney to me. Always kept me informed of what was going on, what needed to be done and how WE were going to do it. She never left me wondering or in suspense, waiting for phone calls back. She explained the legal aspects of things to me, listened to my concerns and suggestions and followed through with her legal opinion of what was best and explained why it was best. She assured me that we would do anything and everything possible to win my case and she did just that. I plan to continue working with Shelly, shall I ever need any legal assistance again and would highly recommend her to anyone.


Posted by anonymous
March 18, 2014
A great and dependable attorney
Ms Merchant helped me with my divorce case, she went above and beyond to help me. I would definitely rehire Ms Merchant, especially recommend her to y’all. She’s very polite, and is always keeping you posted on your case. Thank you very much Ms Merchant.


Posted by Evangelina
February 27, 2014
Great lawyer
Shelly is a great lawyer. She is very helpful, understanding, and responsible. Since the first time I met her for my divorce case she was so focused on my case that I felt she was more than my lawyer. She helped me understand what my rights were and I felt comfortable with her and her staff. If Shelly was not available, her staff would do what they could to keep me informed. I really enjoyed the office atmosphere and I have recommended her to my friends.


Posted by anonymous
February 19, 2014
Awesome Attorney!
Shelly Merchant has represented me on multiple cases and has always been very professional and accessible. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Mrs. Merchant has always taken her time to explain any questions I have had about my cases. She is a great lawyer and I highly recommend her.


Posted by anonymous
February 1, 2012
Outstanding Results and Communication
Ms. Merchant was able to help retain custody of my three children and I received Sole custody. She helped every step of the way and was strong and decisive in court. She is very knowledgeable and impressive.


Posted by Pat
November 30, 2011
Surprised about some of these reviews
I’m surprised to see the negative reviews. I have hired Shelly for several legal matters within the past years and have never been disappointed. She does a wonderful job and her staff is also great. She seems to have a busy practice, but she returns my calls or emails within a reasonable time if not the same day. I felt her fees were reasonable and I was never charged for work she didn’t do.


Posted by anonymous
August 5, 2011
A for Awesome
Shelly is extremely knowledgeable about family law and did an outstanding job with my case. Her office staff was also very helpful and professional and did whatever they could to answer my questions when needed. Her fees are quite reasonable for the work performed and I would certainly recommend her to anyone!


Posted by Brandon
January 6, 2011
Very Merry Christmas for a Single Dad!
Ms. Merchant and her staff were very professional. Even though I was 1,200 miles away from Houston her office kept me informed and gave me a strong since of comfort. Any missed calls or emails were promptly returned by Shelly or one of her staff. Shelly was with me at all my court appearances. With her help, my Christmas in 2010 was very memorable and a blessing.

Google Reviews



Posted by Angela Christensen
Shelly Merchant is definitely the kind of attorney you would want on your side. She has handled several cases for me and each one she gave me 100%. I was treated with respect and she is always professional. Anytime I have a question she answers it promptly. She cares for her clients and their input on cases. I would highly recommend her for any legal needs. You will be impressed!


Posted by Dakota Kellough
Shelly was an amazing lawyer for me! Very honest, caring, upfront and knowledgeable! 10/10 would recommend her for anyone i know that needs a family lawyer. And would hire her again if needed! Thank you for being so great!


Posted by James Tooley
A completely amazing experience!!! Knowledgeable, caring..and 100 percent in my corner!!! I would highly recommend Shelly !!! Thank you so much for all that you did for my family !!!


Posted by Random Music Krystal
Very good at her job and personable